http://www.freddiebell.wordpress.com

Solid Gold Soul

April 30, 2009

Welcome to Solid Gold Soul

About Freddie Bell

Freddie Bell

Freddie Bell

Freddie Bell, velvet morning voice talent is a mellifluous voice actor, broadcast-journalist, speaker and National Voice Actor. His vast voice over credits, include hosting several radio programs including the Tom Joyner Morning Show, The Love Train, It’s The Gospel in Tampa, The Freddie Bell Morning Show in radio on KSGS – 950AM, Solid Gold Soul in Minneapolis, plus This is Music, The Freddie Bell Countdown Show and The Minneapolis NAACP Community Affairs television Programs in Minneapolis.
Invite Freddie to your next event or seminar as a Keynote Speaker, covering topics including You Gotta Have H.E.A.R.T., Tuning In to R.A.D.I.O, Maximizing Your Potential, Imagination, The Secret Key To Success, Winning Through Community Service, Dreaming Your Way to Success and a variety of topics related to sales and sales management. Freddie shares ideas and techniques he used to propel Solid Gold Soul Radio into a household name.
Be sure to tell a friend about the Solid Gold Soul Update. You can also subscribe on line to have the Update sent to you automatically. Click on the subscribe link on the right of this page. Also visit http://www.youtube.com/freddiebell950 for some video fun. A few of my video favorites are posted there!


For Email Marketing you can trust

LIL ROUNDS SAYS SIMON GAVE KISS OF DEATH

Lil Rounds

Lil Rounds

Former “American Idol” contestant Lil Rounds said she tried to stand as strong as possible each week while getting pounded by the judges critiques, including particularly harsh words from Simon Cowell.

But Rounds waited until after cameras stopped rolling to give in to her emotions, the Associated Press reports.

“I will admit there were a couple times where I would just cry like a baby because I felt like I went out there and was giving my all and it kept getting pushed down,” said Rounds, who was voted off by viewers last week.

While the judges showed much affection toward favorite Adam Lambert, they described Rounds as karaoke, unoriginal, and even “a mess.” Rounds believes comments like those cost her votes.

“After they kept hammering, America started feeling like, ‘Oh, maybe they’re right?’ It started to change their opinion about me,” said Rounds, a 24-year-old mother of three from Memphis.

Earlier this month, judge Simon Cowell blasted her performance of “What’s Love Got To Do With It” as a “second- or third-rate version of Tina Turner.”

“I have no idea who you are,” Cowell told Rounds. “You’re not making the impact you should be making on the show. … You’ve got to start becoming more original.”

On another night, Cowell said “you’re not the artist we met” earlier in the contest. At times, Rounds tried to explain her intention to the judging panel — but she never lost her cool.

“I have to keep it classy. The second that I ‘go hood’ it’s gonna be a mess. I just decided whatever I say I have to make sure I say it in a way that they understand me and understand I’m not trying to get in an argument.”

Her family in the audience often had a more colorful reaction. Cameras often showed them talking back and gesturing to the judges.

“I’m actually going to miss your family screaming at us every week,” Cowell told Rounds after she was eliminated.

PRINCE HAD EPILEPSY

Prince

Prince

In a candid interview with Tavis Smiley Monday night, Prince revealed that he suffered from epilepsy as a child, and that his flashy, over-the-top persona was adopted as a way to compensate for his insecurities.

“I’ve never spoken about this before but I was born epileptic,” the reclusive singer said on Smiley’s PBS show. “I used to have seizures when I was young. My mother and father didn’t know what to do or how to handle it but they did the best they could with what little they had.”

Prince also cites divine intervention for helping him cope with his epilepsy. “My mother told me one day I walked in to her and said, ‘Mom, I’m not going to be sick anymore,’ and she said ‘Why?’ and I said ‘Because an angel told me so.’ Now, I don’t remember saying it, that’s just what she told me.”

“From that point on, I’ve been having to deal with a lot of things, getting teased a lot in school,” he said. “And early in my career I tried to compensate by being as flashy as I could and as noisy as I could.”

The singer, who is promoting his latest album, the three-disc set “LotusFlow3r,” concluded his two-part Tavis Smiley interview on Tuesday.

STUDDARD CULTIVATING FAN BASE

Ruben Studdard

Ruben Studdard

Second season “American Idol” champ Ruben Studdard is back with a new album he hopes will “reconnect me to the 20-some odd million people that voted for me and…are my fans from ‘American Idol.’ ”

“Love IS,” a collection of romantic ballads due May 19 from Hickory Records, gets back to the style of music that fueled his “Idol” victory in 2003, and inspired guest judge Gladys Knight to famously title him “the Velvet Teddy Bear.”

Studdard tells Billboard.com that with his fourth album – produced by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis — along with Stargate and country artist John Rich – “[I] just wanted to do the music the fans always ask me for. Ever since I won ‘American Idol,’ people have always been saying they love the way I sing ballads and would love to have me do an album of love songs. I’ve been in the music business awhile now. I’ve had an opportunity to see exactly what the fans want from me and expect, and I think this is exactly the kind of album they’ve been waiting on.”

“Love IS” also finds Studdard switching labels, from J Records to Hickory Records, which is still distributed by SonyBMG but, Studdard says, is more attuned to that fan demand for ballads.

“I think J Records didn’t do a good job with connecting me to my ‘American Idol’ fan base,” says Studdard, whose last outing, 2006’s “The Return,” was a commercial disappointment that’s sold less then 240,000 copies. “I wanted to make sure we had an opportunity to make the music they want to hear, and we got that.”

Studdard recorded “Love IS” during the first five months of 2008, before he went on the road with the musical “Ain’t Misbehavin’.” The first single, “Together,” which was produced by Stargate, was the last track recorded for the album, he says. Studdard co-wrote several of the tracks, including “A Song For Her” for his wife, Surata, who he married in January of 2008, and “Footprints in the Sand,” which was inspired by the Barack Obama presidential campaign.

“Love IS” also features covers of Michael Jackson’s “I Can’t Help It,” Al Green’s “For the Good Times,” the Beatles’ “The Long and Winding Road,” Extreme’s “More Than Words” and Johnnie Taylor’s “Just Because.” “They’re all favorites of mine,” Studdard says of the choices.

Currently finishing his run with “Ain’t Misbehavin’,” Studdard plans a full-scale promotional tour to support “Love IS,” including TV appearances, in-stores and radio station shows.

USHER INTRODUCES NEW STAR

Usher and Justin

Usher and Justin

Usher hosted industry folk in Los Angeles Monday to introduce his new protégé Justin Bieber, a 15-year-old who’s currently getting radio airplay with the Chris “Tricky” Stewart-produced single “One Time.”

Ursh’s sit-down lunch took place at The Sunset Tower Hotel and promoted the Stratford, Ontario-born teen who was discovered on YouTube by manager Scooter Braun, a former So So Def marketing executive, after Bieber began posting homemade videos from his 2007 second-place contestant stint on a local singing competition.

A chance meeting with Usher led to an audition and later to a recording contract offered last October by Island Def Jam chairman Antonio “L.A.” Reid, reports Billboard.com.

Bieber is currently in Atlanta recording “My World,” his Island Records debut due later this year. Songwriting/production collaborators so far include The-Dream and Midi Mafia. A video for “One Time” was shot on Monday.

Staying at the lunch event only long enough to introduce Bieber, Usher described the artist as a “young phenomenon. He’s definitely a priority for me and Island Def Jam.”

A musician as well, the fresh-faced Bieber performed a short acoustic set during which he played keyboards, guitar and the congas—adding that he’s been playing full drums since he was two years old. “I guess you can say I’ve been blessed with talent,” says Bieber.

Black History Factafrican-american-history.jpgcarter-g-woodson.jpg

Apr. 29, 1922: First day of L.A riots, sparked by acquittal of four white cops in the beating of Rodney King, which resulted in at least 50 deaths, thousands injured and estimates of up to $1 billion in property damage.

______________________________________________________________________________
Celebrity Birthdaysbirthdays.jpg

Singer Carl Gardner of The Coasters is 81.

Bluesman Otis Rush is 75.

Rapper Master P is 39.

_______________________________________________________________________________
Words To the Wisewise-words.jpg

“If you want the rainbow, you’ve got to put up with the rain.” – by Jimmy Durante

________________________________________________________________________________


For Email Marketing you can trust

Contact Informationcontact-us.jpg

Freddie Bell
PO Box 390521
Minneapolis, MN 55439
Freddie@freddiebell.com
888-639-9738

